Recipe: Mexican Quinoa Salad

Quinoa salads are my lunch jam.  Lately I have gotten tired of my usual rotation, so I have started experimenting.  This week’s creation is not too shabby.

mexi quinoa salad

The picture really does not do it justice.  However, I also created an awesome quinoa salad last week and did not blog it because I didn’t think to take a picture of it.  Since I made this up directly in the plastic container I take to work, you are just going to have to deal with a not-so-pretty picture (I am quite sorry).

Mexican Quinoa Salad 

Makes 2 servings

  • 1 c. cooked quinoa
  • 2/3 c. black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 c. frozen corn, thawed (Trader Joe’s fire roasted corn is amazing)
  • 1/2 c. tomatoes, chopped (I just had grape tomatoes around so I used those)
  • 2 T. chopped green onions
  • 1 T. chopped cilantro
  • cumin and chili powder
  • 1/2 c. salsa (I used my own)

In a bowl, layer 1/2 c. quinoa, 1/3 c. black beans, 1/4 c. each corn and tomatoes, 1 T. chopped green onions, and 1/2 T. chopped cilantro.  Sprinkle with cumin and chili powder to taste, and top with 1/4 c. salsa.

Evidently, people eat these “salads” cold, but that weirds me out so I heat them up.  Eat it at whatever temperature you like!

Leave a Reply

