Recipe: Puff Pastry Brunch Cups

breakfast cup6

First off, these things don’t have a real name so I am not married to the one I gave them.  Boyfriend was very set on naming them something with the word “Bomb” in them.  And they are the bomb, so I guess that would be fitting.  Anyway, if you have any awesome names for these, just let me know.

Per usual, this is based on one of my mom’s recipes.  I changed it up a bit for brunch I hosted.  I regularly use these same ingredients to make what we call a breakfast braid, where you put the filling on a sheet of puff pastry and braid it together.  So, you can take the same ingredients and do that if you do not want to do all the cutting of the puff pastry dough.  I was just going for something that you can easily eat while you mingle.

My brunch had a Valentine’s Day theme, so I added cutesy heart cut outs to the top of each cup.  You could just do a circle, or braid together a few small strips.  You will definitely want the top layer of puff pastry because there is no such thing as too much puff pastry.  That is a real, scientific fact.

Puff Pastry Brunch Cups

Makes 12 cups

  • 2 sheets puff pastry, thawed
  • 1 1/2 c. potatoes O’brien
  • Additional bell pepper and onion as desired (I always add more)
  • 1 – 1 1/4 c. diced ham
  • 6-8 eggs, scrambled with 1-2 T. cream cheese, 2 T. milk, and 1 tsp. or so salt + pepper (the eggs should be just barely set)
  • 1/2 c. shredded Colby Jack or nacho blend cheese
  • 1/2 c. shredded Parmesan

As always, my quantities are estimated.  You can always combine any leftover ingredients to make an omelette filling or scramble them in with eggs.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Start by rolling out the pastry dough on a floured surface.  Use a glass (naturally, I used a wine glass) or cutout tool of your choice to cut out 12 circles of dough.

IMG_3335[1]

Place the dough in the bottom of a muffin tin sprayed with cooking spray.

breakfast cup2

You may as well go ahead and cut out the shape of your choice for the tops at this point.  Set those aside.

If you are doing this the morning of, go ahead and saute the potatoes and extra bell pepper and onion (if using) in a skillet sprayed with cooking spray.  If you are prepping this the night before (which works just fine), you really don’t even need to thaw the potatoes.  You may want to saute the peppers and onions (again, if using) though.  Layer a little bit of the potato mixture on top of the puff pastry circles, like so:

breakfast cup3

It takes a lot less than you think, so if you are a chronic over-filler like me (I am a terrible taco/burrito maker because I think I need all of the things in it) just resist the urge to over-stuff.  I am talking a tablespoon or so of the potatoes.  Anyway, then go ahead and add a little ham, like so:

breakfast cup4

Next comes a sprinkling of Colby/nacho/cheddar cheese, then a scoop of scrambled eggs, and then a sprinkling of Parmesan.  Top that off with your top shape of choice and you’re ready to bake!

breakfast cup5

Bake for 20-22 min. at 400 degrees.  Let cool slightly and enjoy!

breakfast cup6

And I really am serious about the name suggestions.

Leave a Reply

