Recipe: Western Frittata

I hate wasting produce.  Like, I really hate it.  So I often find myself using up produce on Sundays in omelets and recently, in quiches and frittatas.  I have been on more of a frittata kick lately just because it is a lower carb option.  I also didn’t have any pie crusts lying around and was not in the mood to attempt one from scratch.

I like making frittatas on the weekend just because that means I have leftovers for lunches during the week.  Are you seeing a theme in my lunches?  Anyway, I like to pair a green salad with a slice of frittata for an easy, filling lunch.

I vary my frittata ingredients based on what I have lying around.  I have been known to do a “BLT” version with bacon, spinach, and tomatoes; however, this week I had some leftover peppers and diced ham so I made up this “western” (or is it “Denver” that uses ham and peppers?) frittata.  It came out wonderfully and the best part is that you can adjust a lot of the ingredients to what you need to use up in your refrigerator.

Western Frittata

  • 1/2 c. chopped onion
  • 1/2 c. chopped bell pepper, any color (I had yellow and red so I used that)
  • 3-4 eggs + 3-4 egg whites (I used 3 full and 4 whites)
  • 3/4 c. skim or unsweetened almond milk (believe it or not, almond milk is just fine in this)
  • 1 c. diced ham cubes
  • 3/4 – 1 c. shredded cheddar cheese (I use the Go Dairy fake cheese shreds and it’s fine)

Preheat oven to 350 and spray a pie dish before you dice your vegetables.  Saute peppers and onion in a skillet until softened.  While your vegetables are cooking, whisk eggs and egg whites with your milk of choice.  Stir in ham, cheese, and salt and pepper (to taste).  When peppers are ready, stir those in as well and then pour into pie dish.

quiche uncooked

Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes.  Allow frittata to cool a bit and then cut into 6 slices.  It goes great with toast for breakfast or a green salad for lunch/brunch.

frittata cooked

Leave a Reply

