Recipe: Spinach Smoothies

smoothie

Let’s talk smoothies.  And by smoothies, I mean the kind with spinach.

I have been making smoothies for breakfast for a few years now.  Not every day, but enough.  I usually take one for breakfast at least once a week to school, and I have recently been throwing one in my Blender Bottle for a mid-day snack.  Honestly, smoothies are all about making it up as you go.  My ingredient list has changed over the years depending on my mood and what I want out of the smoothie (protein, energy, just some nutrients, etc.).  Feel free to play around with these recipes – there is no way you can ruin them.  Unless you add cucumber to any of them.  You will definitely ruin them if you add cucumber.  Trust me.

So, I am just going to give you a few of my favorite combinations.  I do have two key ingredients that I always like to have on hand for smoothie making:  Trader Joe’s whey protein powder and PB2 (I am recently VERY into the chocolate kind).  I have the most success when I use the chocolate protein powder with the PB2, and the vanilla protein powder with citrus fruits and berries.

protein powderpb2

Spinach, Banana, and PB2 Chocolate Smoothie

  • 1 small banana, preferably frozen
  • 1 1/2 – 2 c. baby spinach
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 2 Tbsp. PB2 (or, chocolate PB2)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 T. ground flaxseed OR chia seeds (I use these interchangeably and just use whatever I have on hand)
  • 1 – 1 1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk*

Blend and enjoy!

*Substitute cow’s milk if that is what you drink.  I just can’t really do dairy anymore. You could also add Greek yogurt to make it thicker.  I miss Greek yogurt.

Tropical Protein Smoothie

  • 1 small banana, preferably frozen
  • 1 1/2 – 2 c. baby spinach
  • 1 c. tropical fruit blend (I use Trader Joe’s, which has pineapple, mango, and strawberries – or use any combination of these types of fruits)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 – 1 1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk

Berry Spinach Smoothie

  • 1 small banana, preferably frozen
  • 1 1/2 – 2 c. baby spinach
  • 1 c. frozen berry blend or a variety of frozen berries
  • 1 Tbsp. ground flaxseed meal OR chia seeds
  • 1 – 1 1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk
  • Optional: vanilla protein powder

Play around and let me know if you come up with any awesome combinations!  For example, to get my dad to drink the green smoothie pictured at the top of this post, I added vanilla ice cream and we experimented with flavored liqueurs.  FYI: creme de cacao (white chocolate) was the best.

Leave a Reply

