Easy Lunch: Spinach and Tuna Salad

I am a planner.  I have found that planning my meals for the week makes grocery shopping easier and preparing meals throughout the week much faster.  So on Sundays, you will find me in the kitchen most of the day.  Lunch is always a hard decision: I need something that I can transport to school easily, something that holds up well because I never eat at the same time each day, and something that I can put together and eat quickly.   I used to take the prepared Starkist tuna salad packets and eat them on crackers, but about a year ago I came up with this little “recipe” for a healthier twist on tuna salad.  This is my go-to if I do not have any leftovers and I never really get sick of it.  Plus, it is under 250 calories and has a good amount of protein to keep me going all afternoon.  This is key, because if you know me you know that I am not fun when I am hungry.  Anyway.

tuna and greens

Spinach and Tuna Salad

  • 1 1/2 – 2 c. baby spinach (You can really use any kind of greens – I say the darker and leafier*, the better.)
  • 1 packet Starkist Tuna Creations (Sweet and Spicy is my favorite, but they have several flavors)
  • 1 t. Dijon mustard (Trader Joes Dijon with white wine is my favorite – it has a little kick to it)
  • 1 t. balsamic vinegar
  • 2 t. olive oil

For school days, I put the mustard, balsamic vinegar and olive oil in a small plastic container and shake it up.   Shake it again when you are ready to eat and pour over Spinach.   Shake to coat (I always eat this in a plastic container.  If you are using an actual bowl like a real person: first of all good job and secondly, just toss to coat.) and top with tuna.

*I can’t prove that “leafier” is actually a word, but it sounds good.

One thought on “Easy Lunch: Spinach and Tuna Salad

  1. Keep these coming- I’m always in need of lunch ideas. And yeah, you’re really not fun to be around when you’re hangry. kthanksloveyousis

    Like

Leave a Reply

