Recipe: Meatloaf

I definitely do not have a catchy name for this one.  It’s just meat loaf, but it is a particularly delicious one with tons of flavor.  And, it happens to be one of boyfriend’s favorite meals. Because I’m romantic, I made this for our “anniversary of our first date,” which is actually the only anniversary we celebrate but still must be called by its very specific name. Anyway.

Meatloaf

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 lb. Italian sausage
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped yellow onion
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped bell pepper (I used green this time)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 t. Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. ketchup
  • 2 Tbsp. mustard
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. Worcestershire
  • heaping 1/3 c. panko

Mix all ingredients (your hands work best) in a large bowl.  Let sit while you preheat the oven to 350.  Lightly spray either two small or one large loaf pan. Bake 45-50 minutes. Top with ketchup if you desire (boyfriend requires this, I do not).

Side note: I realize that I should start choosing prettier foods to blog. I’ll work on that.

IMG_3177

Leave a Reply

