Recipe: Overnight PB-Banana Oats

I don’t know about you, but I have always struggled with finding the perfect weekday breakfast.  I get up pretty early, and if I do not eat something substantial my whole day pretty much goes downhill.  I was on a smoothie kick for a while (like, an entire year), but I have found something that keeps me full way longer – oatmeal.  Bonus: you prep this the night before, so it is ready to go in the morning.

I originally started with a recipe from the Skinnytaste cookbook (if you do not own this, you should). After her PB&J oats rocked my world for a while I began experimenting with other mix-ins and came upon this beautiful combo.  I am a huge fan of anything peanut butter and banana.  When I heat these oats in the morning, they are as magical as something I am eating before 7 a.m. can be.

They’re pretty good after 7 a.m. too.

IMG_3133

PB-Banana Overnight Oats

  • 1/4 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened* almond milk
  • 1 packet Stevia*
  • 1/2 banana, diced
  • 1 Tbsp. Chia seeds
  • 1 Tbsp. peanut butter

Combine all of the above ingredients except the peanut butter in a microwave-safe container.  Cover and refrigerate overnight. When you are ready to eat, heat for about 1 – 1 1/2 minutes, stir in peanut butter, and enjoy.

I do hear that you can eat this stuff cold, but that just isn’t my style.

*If you only have sweetened almond milk, lose the sweetener. I have no idea what would happen if you used regular cow’s milk as far as the sweetener goes, so let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

